276°
Posted 20 hours ago

Last Time We Met: A heart-warming and emotional will-they-won’t-they friends-to-lovers romance for 2022

£4.995£9.99Clearance
ZTS2023's avatar
Shared by
ZTS2023
Joined in 2023
82
63

About this deal

Though her own romantic life has always been fraught with uncertainty, it is her job to forge romantic connections between clients.

He ran away from his prior life, and his best friend Eleanor, who he had been inseparable from as a child. Whilst it didn’t pack quite as much of an emotional punch for me, it was still a beautiful and heartfelt love story which I’d highly recommend! Fast forward to fifteen or so years later, and Eleanor is feebly trying to get over an awful break-up with her long-standing partner Oliver.While I enjoyed the fairly predictable path taken by this story, I was wrenched out of the story every time someone smirked (smirk or smirked appears 24 times in the narrative). Fin and Eleanor each must navigate some difficult personal terrain including issues such as alcoholism, family dysfunction and mental health issues. This Time Next Year meets Harry Met Sally in this epic and emotional rom-com that's perfect for fans of Mhairi McFarlane and Beth O'Leary.

Over the course of the story, told in now time and flash backs, we discover that The H had problems with alcohol after his dad left his mother for the woman he’d been cheating with and the teenage H was left to listen to his mum grieve for his dad every night. Thinking that she never loved Mike in the same way her marriage falls apart and she divorces Mike and is back in touch with the also now divorced Patrick.

Last Time We Met is a dual narrative told by Eleanor and Fin and a dual timeline spanning their teenage years and leading up to the present time. The grand reveal was really well-written though – predictable yes, but it worked perfectly with the friends-to-lovers aspect of the story.

Asda Great Deal

Free UK shipping. 15 day free returns.
Community Updates
*So you can easily identify outgoing links on our site, we've marked them with an "*" symbol. Links on our site are monetised, but this never affects which deals get posted. Find more info in our FAQs and About Us page.
New Comment